How to install MongoDB on Fedora

During the last days, I’ve been delving into NoSQL datastores study and now I’ve got the chance to use MongoDB for a real-life need (of course, something relating to work issues). In order to reach my target, I needed a fresh installation of one of the most promising NoSQL technologies: the document-oriented datastore MongoDB.

Here is how I managed to install MongoDB 2.0.3 on a Fedora Core 11 host. You can easily adapt the steps I went through to your operational environment.

We’re about to issue every command as root user.

First, I downloaded, extracted and placed the Mongo stuff (I didn’t use 10gen repo, but just a tar.gz from MongoDB website):

cd /opt
wget http://fastdl.mongodb.org/linux/mongodb-linux-i686-2.0.3.tgz
tar xvf mongodb-linux-i686-2.0.3.tgz
mv mongodb-linux-i686-2.0.3.tg mongodb-2.0.3

I decided that my databases would go under /usr/data/mongodb and that MongoDB log file would be /var/log/mongodb.log

As I wanted my MongoDB server instance to be started/stopped as a demon, I prepared the following init.d script named “mongodb” and placed it under /etc/init.d/ :

#!/bin/bash
source /etc/rc.d/init.d/functions
prog="mongod"
mongod="/opt/mongodb-2.0.3/bin/mongod"
RETVAL=0

start() {
  echo -n $"Starting $prog: "
  #This is the fundamental call to start the MongoDB server instance
  daemon $mongod "--fork --journal --dbpath /usr/data/mongodb \
  --logpath /var/log/mongodb.log \
  --logappend 2>&1 >>/var/log/mongodb.log"
  RETVAL=$?
  echo
  [ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && touch /var/lock/subsys/$prog
  return $RETVAL
 }

stop() {
  echo -n $"Stopping $prog: "
  killproc $prog
  RETVAL=$?
  echo
  [ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && rm -f /var/lock/subsys/$prog
  return $RETVAL
}

case "$1" in
 start)
  start
  ;;
 stop)
  stop
  ;;
 restart)
  stop
  start
  ;;
 status)
  status $mongod
  RETVAL=$?
  ;;
 *)
  echo $"Usage: $0 {start|stop|restart|status}"
  RETVAL=1
 esac

exit $RETVAL

Then, I opened my Iptables firewall’s INPUT chain so that port 27017 (the port MongoDB server is listening to) is not blocked: I opened the file /etc/sysconfig/iptables and added the following rule before of the COMMIT statement:

-A INPUT -p tcp -m tcp -m multiport --ports 27017 -j ACCEPT

and restarted iptables with:

service iptables restart

That’s it. Finally, I started the server instance with:

service mongodb start

and tested the whole thing opening the Mongo Javascript shell like this:

cd /opt/mongodb-2.0.3/bin
./mongo

and everything was fine.

One thought on “How to install MongoDB on Fedora

  1. Pingback: Nine OM - Today’s Linux Server Links

Leave a Reply

