How to convert VMWare virtual machines to Virtual Box

Where I started from

This is my situation: I’m on a Windows7 x86 host, and I have an old Ubuntu 10.04 virtual machine with VMWare Tools installed on it.

My need is to turn it into an OVF appliance, so that I can run it on Virtual Box, no matter where what architecture it will be run on.

Steps

This is what I’ve done:

  • I made sure (e.g: using VMWare Player or Workstation) that the virtual appliance is powered off;
  • Opened a Command Prompt, moved to the VMWare Player/Workstation installation dir and executed the OVF conversion tool. Be aware that this conversion may take some time, depending on how big is your VMX appliance. I did it as follows (replace the paths as needed):
cd "C:\Program Files\VMware\VMware Workstation\OVFTool"
ovftool.exe "C:\Users\claudio\Documents\Virtual Machines\ubuntu1004\ubuntu1004.vmx" "C:\Users\claudio\Documents\Virtual Machines\converted-to-virtualbox\ubuntu1004.ovf"
  • When the conversion process was over, I imported the “ubuntu1004.ovf” appliance into Virtual Box by using the “File” > “Import virtual appliance ..” menu element  and leaving all the defaults;
  • Then I booted up the “ubuntu1004.ovf” appliance and performed VMWare Tools uninstallation by opening up an SSH shell and executing:
sudo /usr/bin/vmware-uninstall-tools.pl
  • Then I finished the whole process by executing the “Device” > “Install Guest Additions” menu item: a virtual CD is then mounted and I launched the installation process from a shell
cd /media/VBOXADDITIONS_4.2.12_84980
sudo bash VBoxLinuxAdditions.run

 

Not as difficult as it may seem…. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

